Hilton Hall of Honor to induct four members

Cougar news services

The Hospitality Industry Hall of Honor, a tribute to leaders of the hotel, restaurant and hospitality industry in the University of Houston's Conrad Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management, will induct four new members Oct. 8.

The 1997 honorees are Raymond Kroc, founder of the McDonald's restaurant chain; Curtis Leroy Carlson, owner of Radisson Hotels, TGI Fridays and other businesses; Ellsworth Statler, founder of Statler Hotels, one of America's first hotel chains; and Lord Charles Forte, founder of Forte Plc., owner of the international Savoy Group of hotels.

In addition to a Leaders' Gallery, which houses portraits of all inductees, the Hall features a display area containing memorabilia illustrating the life stories and accomplishments of the inductees.

Members of the Hall of Honor are chosen through a process involving the American Hotel & Motel Association, the National Restaurant Association and other hospitality groups.

Visit The Daily Cougar