The Daily Cougar Online
Today's Weather

Sunny weather

Hi 84 / Lo 60

University of Houston HomepageUniversity of Houston Department of Student PublicationsUH Houstonian YearbookWestern Association of University Publications ManagersThe Daily Cougar Online StaffThe Daily Cougar Copyright & Web Use NoticeThe Daily Cougar AwardsAbout The Daily Cougar OnlineThe Daily Cougar Campus Spotlight Online FormThe Daily Cougar Online ArchivesThe Daily Cougar Ad Rates & InformationWelcome to The Daily Cougar OnlineThe Daily Cougar Online Campus SpotlightThe Daily Cougar Online ComicsThe Daily Cougar Online Life & ArtsThe Daily Cougar Online SportsThe Daily Cougar Online OpinionThe Dailly Cougar Online News

Student Publications
University of Houston
151C Communications Bldg
Houston, TX 77204-4015

Student Publications,
All rights reserved.

Last modified:


Volume 72, Issue 51, Tuesday, October 31, 2006


Houston freshmen lead team

Ahmed and Cook take top spots for UH at 

Cougar Sports Services

The men finished fifth and the women finished eighth when Houston competed Saturday in the Conference USA cross country championships in rainy, muddy conditions in Greenville, N.C.

Freshman Ahmed Harb led the pack for the Cougars on the men's side, finishing in 15th place with a time of 26:12.81 on the seven-kilometer course. Harb's successful finish earned him a spot on the All-Conference USA Third Team. Freshman Michael Malain came in 18th with a time of 26:31.46 and junior Paul Goodwin came in 23rd with a time of 26:43.86. 

Other finishers for the Cougars were freshman Juston Perez (40th), senior Calum Neff (42nd), freshman Nathan Trimble (46th), freshman Daniel Martinez (48th) and freshman Chris Pine (51st). 

Freshman Jessica Cook finished 25th and lead the UH women with a time of 19:13.52. Juniors Oumama Hallal (31st) and Adriane Guinn (43rd) and sophomores Eva Madrid (62nd) and Jennifer Harper (63rd) also finished. 

The Texas-El Paso men defended their championship, and the Alabama-Birmingham women won their first team title. UTEP's Paul Ereng (men) and UAB's Ray Stanfield (women) were named Coaches of the Year.C-USA championships

Send comments to

The Daily Cougar Online

Tell us how we're doing.

To contact the 
Sports Section Editor, click the e-mail link at the end of this article.

To contact other members of 
The Daily Cougar Online staff,
click here .

House Ad

Visit The Daily Cougar